2013 Running Goals

Like many, I'm deep into spring marathon training at the moment, but with half an eye on the end of April I'm wondering what I might like to do after my marathon recovery. Other than my obvious goal to get to the marathon in one piece, enjoy it and get a PB, I'd love to get some speed over the shorter distances, hopefully reducing my 5k time before my marathon race day to under 24mins, and then see what i can get it down to with some specific 5k training over the summer. 23 mins, 22 perhaps? Who knows.

I'd also like to improve my swimming, and was thinking I might have a bit more time/energy to cross train once marathon training is done.

What about you? Marathon or otherwise, what are you running/training goals for this year?

Comments

• Hey hey,

I have put in a fairly crafty 10k, 2 weeks after my spring marathon, and the westminster mile the day before that.  I've never done a mile race before, so I'm hoping for 3 Pbs in 1 month.  Also thinking of doing race the train this year, which is a 14 miler. and I'm doing Orion 15 in the build up to my spring marathon, so yes, many pb potential races!

As for swimming- nasty- that being said, last year I did my first triathlon - the Maldon triathlon, sprint distance.  I would highly recommend it if you're looking to stay fit in the summer without pounding the roads all the time image

• wow, you're busy Angela.

I've got one eye on a 10k about a fortnight after my marathon, as i've heard rumour that if you're gentle with yourself in the weeks after the marathon you'll retain a lot of the fitness benefit of the marathon training and still be sharp enough to race a shorter distance, so ideally i'll also bag a 10k (and maybe a 5k parkrun) PB in the wake of my marathon.

• Yes,  I asked for tips on here before entering.