Electrical knowledge anyone?

XX1XX1 ✭✭✭
Whenever I put my dishwasher on a switch on the consumer unit trips... I've had the dishwasher for just over a year and it was fine until recently. Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be? I'm guessing that it's an issue with the dishwasher but I'm no expert.

Comments

• I would say it is a problem with your plug socket. Try a different socket if you can.
  • XX1XX1 ✭✭✭
    I'll give it a shot. Can plug sockets develop faults over time?
  • XX1XX1 ✭✭✭
    Oh, thanks for the suggestion btw image
  • could also be a problem with the plug - maybe a loose wire causing a trip

• De nada Taxi. Could be that the plug socket isn't designed for such a high voltage. My washing machine did the same thing as I had it in a socket that was put in for lights in the kitchen. When I put it into another socket there was no problem..
  • If your dishwasher isn't properly earthed then that can cause the circuit breaker to trip. Try it in a different socket, ideally if you can plug it into a socket that runs off a different circuit breaker then try that.

Otherwise, if it's a year old then I assume it's under warranty...

• Grendel3Grendel3 ✭✭✭

Does yours have a heating element in it? Ours did and when it burnt though that tripped the switch. Though after a year it shouldn't have happened

• Nick is right. I think my faulty plug socket was more to do with a cowboy electrical job than by design.
  • Just get the wife to do the washing up, and you can save on the eleccy bill
  • XX1XX1 ✭✭✭