Cadence?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to running, although I've been running trails for a few months covering usually 6 - 10 miles on weekend run. 

I've got myself a GPS running watch with HRM which has been great but recently picked up a footpod as I've been sneaking in some treadmill sessions at work during my lunch break.

I've been doing a fair bit of reading on running recently and have come across the whole cadence thing of 180 steps per minute. After a couple of footpod treadmill runs I saw that my cadence was way below this at about 150. I was really surprised that this remained pretty constant no matter how fast I set the treadmill.

Today I went for a run on the treadmill with the sole intention of upping my cadence and ran 45 mins with my cadence up to still short of the magic 180 mark at 170 steps per minute.

It felt like I was taking tiny baby steps although I did notice I was forefoot striking even more than before. I didn't think that it seemed like any less effort than before, even it might have felt a little harder.

Is this really worth perservering with or should I just run how it feels comfortable to me? I was having to concentrate on keeping the higher cadence up. As a noob to running I'm still trying to work out what's bollocks and what's good advice.

Cheers

Comments

• CliveSCliveS ✭✭✭

Like you, I recently bought a footpod and found my cadence about 160. 

I'm sure the 180 thing is an 'optimal' figure. I guess you could increase spm by either increasing leg speed while keeping the same stride length, or taking baby steps - if that makes sense.