minimum miles per week for marathon??

Wonder if anyone can advise me? I am a fitness instructor and teach 22 classes per week (all sorts- kettlebells, body pump, spin, everything!!) so have a pretty good base level fitness. I recently ran my first half in 9 years in 1.44 with only one training run a week (of 8-12 miles) for 8 weeks - my previous pb was 1.50 before I was a fitness instructor, so my job has definitely helped make me faster!

However, given the amount of exercise I already do, I can't fit in the 40 or so miles a week I need to do a full marathon, which is my next goal for this year (prob the New Forest in September - have run it twice before and loved it!) - what do you think I can get away with as a bare minimum to get me round in sub-4 without too much pain? Do you think 25-30 per week is enough (split over one long and two short runs)?? Or am I kidding myself that all the cross- training will work, and it really boils down to time on feet at this distance? Any advice gratefully received!

Comments

• 25-30 miles a week is fine. We are all different but if you can combine your base fitness with good long runs building up to some 20 miler plus runs you should do well. Sub 4 is really not that hard. just a gentle jog. But for 4 hours.
  • As NLR says - You still need the long runs in. I went sub 3.15 this year on a pitiful average of 23 miles a week for the last 13 weeks of runs. I teach 3 spin classes and cycle on top of the running though. And I have run a couple of marathons a year for the last few years.
  • Just worked this out for myself, and like Cougie, I averaged 23 miles a week. Also like Cougie I cycle and swim (triathlon focused rather than just pure running). Unlike Cougie however I didn't go sub 3.15 - but my 3.28 was a PB by 23 minutes in my 2nd stand-alone marathon so I was totally pleased with that, still with plenty of scope for improvement. 

I went +30km 5 times in training, longest run 36km (22.5 miles)