Injured already! Over pronation (I think)

Hi,   I'd be really grateful for any advice anyone can give me, as I'm new to running and I have to get fit enough to run 12 miles by September for Tough Mudder.   I started running last week, and I'll admit, I wasn't wearing great trainers. After 4 days of running for 30 mins (walking then running) I managed to hurt my left foot. It's really stiff and painful around the ankle and along the top on the left side.   I decided to rest it and get some proper trainers. I went to a running shop where the put me on a treadmill and sold me some Asics to help straighten my feet up. I've rested for three days now but every day I wake up with my foot feeling even stiffer. It's as though its seizing up. I've been taking antinflammatories, soaking it in Epsom salts and using ibuprofen gel. I even wore the new trainers yesterday instead of usual shoes.   This morning I took a photo of my heels from the back and it's really obvious how much my ankles roll in- which suggests over-pronation but what confuses me is that it's the outside of my heels that wear down which from reading, suggests over-supination.   I wondered if anyone has had these symptoms i'd appreciate any advice. Especially whether resting the foot helped, and for how long. I'm getting a bit worried as I really need to be running asap.    Thanks

Comments

• Ha! Well, I say I took it- my husband took it!

• Hi! I was also told I was an overpronater when training for a half marathon which I knew already as I had been a regular at the biomechanic and had numerous pairs of orthotics since I was a kid.

I didn't notice any difference when I went and got fitted properly at a running shop and in all my frustration began my own research. I found that because of the biomechanics of my feet, my glutes and hamstrings were weak (particularly gluteus medius) and that this meant general instability in those areas.