First Marathon - Please help

Hi everyone,

I am running the Edinburgh Marathon in 4 weeks and it's my first ever go.  I've been running for just under 2 years now and have done a few 5 k's, 10k's and half marathons.

I have been building up to my long runs for sometime now but just can't break 15 miles and am due to do 18 - 20 miles this weekend, I am really worried that I don't have it in me and if that's the case am I just being stupid trying to do a marathon at all.

Thank you.

Comments

• Why can't you get past 15?

•  
    Intermanaut wrote (see)

Why can't you get past 15?

They live on a small island ?

• Hi Intermanaut,

My legs just feel that they can't go anymore, even if I try walking for a while I just can't seem to go any further, I am keeping a even pace when I start out but after mile 11 it just becomes really hard, the last time I tried I felt really sick, I don't want to give up though, I am so excited about doing this marathon although I would rather make it over the finish line still standing.  Any advise most welcome thank you.

• literatinliteratin ✭✭✭

Run slower?

Or possibly eat more food.

• How long have you been training for this marathon ?

What sort of training schedule have you been using ?

My usual marathon plan has 4 long runs of 20 miles plus, the last one being 3 weeks before the race, I'm sure you should have been up to this by now

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

At a guess, you're running your long runs too fast.

What sort of schedule have you been using?  Does it give you any guidance on pace?

• Thanks everyone,

I did a 10K in November and training since then, the weather over Feb/March didn't help and I hate the treadmile. I run 4 times a week, 2 x 4 miles, 1 x 6-9 miles, including speed work and hills etc.  I also cross train and do yoga.