Had 415 miles out of shoes - time for a new pair?

Bit of a newbie question this.

I bought a new pair of shoes in October 2012 to train in and run both the London marathon and Manchester marathon in.

All done now and I have clocked up around 415 miles in them.

i just took them out of my bag and they are a bit stinky too.

I am running the Manchester 10k in a couple of weeks, so will probably clock up another 50 miles for that.

is it automatically game over for the shoes at the 500 mile point?

They are a neutral shoe from Asics and have been great.

I have also noticed some posterior tibial tendon tenderness over the last 2 weeks (could just be attributed to the 2 marathons ran in the last week), but maybe it could be attributed to the wearing out of cushioning?

I'm not really experienced enough to know how to check the shoes so any advice would be great!

Thanks!

Comments

• I used to buy new running shoes more often, but I now do around 700miles in a pair before I retire them. 

I don't notice any real difference in cushioning over their life, but will keep a pair that have done around 100miles for race day.

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Its not automatically game over at 500 miles.  

My shoes last until they give me strange aches & pains, so its possible that yours are coming to the end of their life. Although, you have just run two marathons in two weeks, I'd expect you to have a few aches & pains.

I tend to rotate at least two pairs of shoes (lots of good reasons like always having one dry pair etc) so it does become more obvious when a pair have gone as they don't feel as comfortable as the other pair.  If you've done all your running in one pair of shoes, then this might be something to consider?  

I also tend to pick up my shoes in the sales.  If your neutral Asics have served you well since October, you may be able to find them cheap in the sales as they are last year's stock?

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭