McMillan calculator times

I've been running again for about 2 months now since being out for a year with 3 consecutive fractures.  I've got my confidence back again which was the hardest thing and am now able to run 8k, I'm building up slower this time. To give me something to aim for I have entered my first marathon next year. It was during my first half mara last year that I fractured my fibula. When training for my half, my 5k PB came down by a minute. I put that PB into the McMillan calculator and was quite surprised by the marathon time it gave me. I just wondered how achievable/realistic this is ? I appreciate that a sensible training plan and remaining injury free are key but should I target this time ? I noticed also that the predicted time for my half was 10 mins quicker than I was aiming for and apart from breaking my leg I was feeling pretty good and considering upping my pace. in the end it was all I could do just to finish !

Comments

• Mr BoatMr Boat ✭✭✭

I wouldn't be comparing my 5k time to a marathon just yet. What pace were you running your HM at when you became injured? This may be a better guide until you manage to get a few more racing miles under your belt.

• Absolutely. It's a year away and I have a lot to do before then. I haven't raced a 5k yet but reckon I'm at least 5 mins off my PB time. I was aiming for 1 hour 45 for my HM and was running at about 7 45 m/m at the 7 mile mark and feeling quite good. it was about a half mile later that it went wrong. 

• The marathon times it gives are wildly optimistic.  Add another five to ten minutes at least.

• Thanks. If I got within 10 minutes of it I'd still be extremly happy. 

• literatinliteratin ✭✭✭

McMillan was actually strangely accurate for my half to full marathon conversion (give or take 10 secs), but there are loads of different factors:

- HM time is a better comparison because closer in distance.
    - I'm a woman (Fetch calculator reckons that makes a difference).