Biomechanics Research - Leeds Metropolitan University

Hello,

My name is Steve and I'm a mature student studying an MSc. in Sports Biomechanics at Leeds Met Uni. Having just received approval for my disseration:

Effects of hydration pack carriage and fatigue on kinetics and kinematics during a 21 kilometre treadmill run

The study is comparing two different designs of pack, both with different loading locations.

I am now looking to recruit 6-10 subjects to take part.

In brief we are looking for both female and male runners that are covering 25miles a week (whether its a fast or slow is not important). The time commitment would be approximately 3 x 2 hour sessions in the labaratory based on the Headingly Campus of Leeds Met Uni spread over a minimum of 3 weeks.

We would also require the subjects to run a small percentage of their weekly mileage wearing the packs prior to their first testing session.

In return for your time, you would be provided with access to the results, a full expert gait analysis and the experience of helping with this original research that has never been conducted before.

If you have any questions then please don't hesitate to contact me at

steve.w.franklin@gmail.com or through RunnersWorld

Thank you for taking the time to read my request and I look forward to hearing from the Runners World community soon.

Regards,

Steve

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

A 21km treadmill run?  image

That's a very long time to be on a tready.  I can stand half an hour at the most.  At the very most.  Why can't it be done outside?