Birmingham and Black Country Half-Marathon

Hi folks - mark you diaries for July 6th. The 7th edition of our secret little race is back and entry is open now.

/members/images/18674/Gallery/tunnel_0.jpg

Comments

• I should be back again for the 5th time image

• Chris - you know you are always welcome, fingers crossed for good weather!

• I used to live in Oldbury and this canal was a staple of my cyclo-cross training. Pretty tempted by this as I've done a point to piint on canal towpaths (minus a tunnel!) in Watford and it was great fun

• 2Wheels, yeah I used to live in Tipton so it was my reg routes.

Its a great race, be my 5th running, great goodie bag, massage, showers last year in NIA.

Oh, and lots of pubs around the finish area image

• Im thinking of doing this for my 1st ever half marathon! is it really mostly flat? Im not good with hills!

• zoey, I done this as my first in 2010 and have now done about 10 halfs and I would recommend it for a first half it's 99% flat apart from some canal bridges , I hope this helps
  • SpenceSpence ✭✭✭

It is flat, however the canal bridges can be a bit brutal!!image

I've done it 4 times (I think) each year I think never again and then.....

• Ok, I'm pretty much sold. Am i right in thinking that it is a time trial? If so how does that work, is it like a cycling one where you are aloocated a time or do you just rack up when you please?

• hi 2wheels, yeap time trial. You have given an approx start time based upon your predicted time for half marathon. We start in groups of around 10 ish and timed via electronic chip. So the clock doesnt start for you until you cross the start mat. Its very well done and I am not on commission from the organisers image

• Cool that makes sense - thank you! and presumably the faster you are, the later you start? So with a 1.49 PB and a target of sub 1hr 45 I assume I'll start around the middle? If I do enter I'm coming up from Hertfordshire so keen to avoid a stupidly early start!