Marathon Taper

Hi, it's my first marathon in Edinburgh in two weeks time. So far, I've made up the training myself, but could do with some advice on tapers.......I reckon I'm aiming foe a (just) sub 4 hour time. Thanks

Comments

• booktrunkbooktrunk ✭✭✭

ok so you should now be cutting down. Which is harder then it seems, your excited / nervous / impatient 

any work you do now, will probably not improve your time in the slightest, but it could make you tired. I would say no hard sessions from now. Just plod along gently for 3 runs this week and maybe 2 in the last week. With a gentle walk maybe a day or two before the marathon.

carb load 48 to 72 hours before the marathon to give you that extra bit of energy.

good luck!!

EDIT: no I'm not very experienced but I managed to get around two marathons and that's the sort of taper I did. 

• That's great..I could do with a rest!  Thanks. I'm guessing that it's not easy to take it easy though!

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Slighty different perspective than booktrunk, I'd recommend cutting down the duration but not the intensity. For a three week taper you'd normally do 75%, 50%, 25% of your average weekly mileage in the three weeks before the marathon (i.e. the 25% week is the week of the marathon).  As you've only got two weeks and a weekend, you want to cut back the distance of this weekend's run to no more than 14 miles (assuming you've been doing 18 to 20 on previous Sundays) and then 60% next week followed by 20% the week after.

If you normally do a speed session during the week, still do it but cut the distance of tempos or the number of intervals depending on the type of session.  This helps to temper any taper fever caused by the sudden reduction in running.

• Thanks that makes sense. I'd been planning to go for a 22-24 mile run this weekend as I haven't got past 20 yet and this worrying me a bit. I feel I need to do this distance and then start cutting down.

• booktrunkbooktrunk ✭✭✭