First marathon

Can anyone recommend a good first marathon?  I've done a couple of halfs, and my latest PB is around 1:53 - I'm feeling ready for the challenge of stepping it up to a full, probably next spring (I'm doing the GNR in September so don't want to push it with training for a full one in the autumn as well)

Also, any recommendations for training plans would be wonderful - I don't think I'm a complete beginner any more, but I'm definitely not in the speedy serious class!

Comments

• How about Brighton?
  •   I'm not sure what makes a good first marathon, but as for training plans if you google Hal Higdon and MyAsics, you won't go far wrong.

Happy running!

• Brighton is indeed a great marathon to do your first - the support is absolutely fantastic. The price next year is a bit steep, but I would recommend it image

• Perhaps you need to consider whether you want a busy marathon - lots of people runnind and supporting or a quieter marathon?

I did Brighton for the first time last month, got a PB but didn't really like the course - first half undulating so tricky to get pace correct; lots and lots of people supporting (which some people like) and a motorbike convoy and mini car convoy as well! I found it too claustraphobic lots of runing back on yourself etc! But, that is because I don't often run in large races so somewhat inexperienced (only done GSR twice in recent years) at home we only have small numbers HM gets around 450 - 500 people. It was a good experience and I'm pleased I did it, but need a quieter marathon where I can really focus on what I'm doing if that makes sense!

The ballot for Brighton has now closed so you may also need to consider a charity option - I ran for Oxfam as they only wanted a smaller pledge - that also needs consideration though - it's hard work fundraising and training at the same time!