Bad run ??

I  am feeling little deflated today.

I have just started running two weeks ago and today was my 7th session to the gym. I am a beginner in running so started off by 1min run/ 1min walk over 20 min

By the 6th session (Saturday gone) i was running for 3 min and walking 1 min for 30min. On saturday I hit 3.50km in 30min which is actually quite an achievement for me, being quite over weight and being out of the gym for almost a year. (I even went from speed 7.0 to 8.5)

But today i went to the gym all ready for it and I miserably failed - well although i still got my 30min run/walk doing 1min run and 1 min walk, I did it over speed 7.5/8.0 and walked on 5.0 - my legs were sooo tired!

I think i know what may have caused this....On saturday after my fantastic run on treadmil - i decided to do squats, lunges, side lunges over 3 sets and my legs were burning/aching since!! Maybe i should have rested more?

I  just wanted to put this in writing and just share it I guess.

I am still going to try the run again tomorrow morning so hopefully it'l be a good one!

In two weeks, i have lost almost under 6lbs as i have changed ny diet to better healthier and nutritional eating. I dont want to lose this awesome feeling i have experienced ie full of energy, not lethargic...

I really hope it was a case of one bad run.....

Comments

• YKWYKW ✭✭✭

To be honest sounds like you are approaching things sensibly and not expecting to go straight into a 60 minute sprint.

I think one point to remember is not every run shoudl be a "push" run - whereby a run where you are going faster/longer/harder than before.

Also you do need to give yourself time to recover. So my advice would be:

1. Put the last run out of your mind

2. Following a "push run" - the next run shoudl be slower/shorter

3. Do not do 2 push runs in a row

They do get easier.

• Thanks for the advise, Your approach sounds logical