Recommend me some lightweight shoes? musha? Fastwitch? Nike free?

Hi guys, I'm looking for some lightweight shoes to both train and race in, and would appreciate your input.

Im about 65kg, not a heavy runner, more mid/forefoot striker and will be running shortish distance to around 10k or less. So looking for fast/light without being really flimsy and not as far as barefoot style shoes. 

I currently run in both Saucony Progrid Triumphs and also Mizuno Wave Rider 13s, but want something a bit lighter as they feel (ESP the Sauconys) like I'm carrying a cushion.

Options I've looked at so far are Mizuno Wave Musha (ver4 as they are cheap), Adidas Adios 2/3, Saucony Fastwitch and Nike Free 3.0 ver4. 

Ill be going to my local shop to try some out but I know they don't stock any of the above so hoping you can give me a steer?

Thanks

Chris

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Can only advise on the Saucony shoes, as I've no experience of the others.

The Triumph is a neutral shoe, so the the Type A5 (or the older Type A4) is probably a better choice than the Fastwitch as the Fastwitch has some support for over-pronation.

The Fastwitch (and Type A5) are stripped down race shoes, so are defniitely light but this does mean they will be much harder on your feet.  This will be a big transition from your current shoes, but there is a middle ground.  The Saucony Kinvara is a much lighter shoe than the Triumph but is considerably plusher than the race shoes.

I

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

I don't know how the cushioning on the A5 compares to Fastwitch but I happily wore the Fastwitch for the marathon this year; I think they're reasonably well cushioned given their weight. Certainly more so than some other lightweight race/trainers I've used, e.g. Brooks ST Racer or Asics DS Trainer.

I guess stutry's correct about either A5 or Kinvara for your running style, but I'm a heel striker so haven't used either.

• +1 for the fastwitch.