10k training - finding it really hard!

Hi everyone!

I'm new here and could do with some advice. I've been running for about seven months, starting out with the Couch to 5k programme and I'm now training for a 10k. I enjoyed the Couch to 5k and progressed pretty well with it. However, now that I'm doing the Bridge to 10k I've been finding it increasingly difficult.

The race is in 5 weeks and I'm getting a bit worried because I can't see myself being able to finish it. At the moment I'm doing 20 minute runs with three minutes walking in between. My legs get really tired and I feel absolutely exhausted afterwards. I think maybe my leg muscles are too weak as that seems to be the problem rather than the cardio.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Comments

• Hi Mrs Seychelles

Don't get too despondent, especially if you have been working on continuously improving for seven months - your body needs time to catch up every now and then.  If you are struggling to keep up the pace I'd suggest you slow down a little, even if that sounds counter-intuitive.  Run to a pace that does NOT leave you feeling shattered afterwards for 80-90% of your training time, and you'll start enjoying the process again. 

It is a good idea to do so some general strengthening work, especially if you are coming off a low base of fitness, but ultimately the best exercise to develop your legs for running is - running.  Are you running with a group?  If not you should consider joining your local running club; it's easier to stay motivated when there are other people around for company and encouragement.  Most clubs are very welcoming of newcomers and have a range of abilities so don't be self-conscious about your speed etc.