New to running, need some help and advice.

Hi All,

I'm new to running have only completed Week 1 Day 2 so far of the C25K app, I wanted to start running to increase my overall fitness and to loose weight. I am currently 2 stone overweight and really want to get rid of it ASAP. I have been using myfitness pal to log down what I am eating per day and to work out how many calories I should be eating in order to loose weight. I must point out that I am not and never have dieted, so when I put in my food intake yesterday I was surprised to get a warning about my body going into starvation mode. I set the up up with my height and current weight plus my target weight, the app said I should target 1,620 calories a day. After putting in my food and exercise for the day I told the app to end the day, I had a total of 888 calories left over.  Would being this far below the target that the app states hinder my attempts to loose weight? 

I also wanted to ask if you think a 2 stone loss would be achieveable through running?

I have bought a yoga ball to try and do some core exercises on my rest days so that I can strengthen my core and hopefully loose the fat that currently hides my abs anyway.

If you have any advice with reguards to the C25K app or general advice for running I'd appreciate it.

I already have running trainers and got them from a running shop that did analyse my gait for me.

Thanks 

eMMA

Comments

• That does sound way too low to be sustainable.

How many calories did you actually eat yesterday?

And yes 2 stones can easily come from running - BUT you need to control the calories in. You burn about 100 calories a mile - so its far easier to scoff 1000 calories than it is run 10 miles to burn it off. Even for experienced runners.
  • Hi Cougie,