My road to Rio

Comments

• mike - glad the club night was good.   keep with it!

it doesnt make sense does it...run the majority or your weekly miles at easy pace and you get faster ?!?  It is something every new runner makes the mistake and runs all mileage at a faster ave pace.  You need mileage and time on your feet to improve over the long term eg..not 3 secs off here and there.  I started training about a yr ago after running all my mileage same pace on a treadmill.....the difference in my times by slowing down and increasing my mileage on my slow runs and run the club nights on the track fast have seen a decent jump.

oh...and dont worry about the ages, im the youngest in my training group at 39yrs and you might be happy with my 5k time. Old timers can move too!image

• You still there Mike?
  • Yeh im always here. image

Been taking in the advice and running my easy days easy by using the mcmillan running calculator paces, I had a slight injury in my shin (maybe because of the uneveness of the roads i run on and the darkness, I lose my balance time to time image) so I didn't run on Thursday unfortunately, I had 7.5 miles planned so thats ruined my weekly mileage, I decided to do some core exercises for 30mins instead.

Tomorrow will be the parkrun again, hoping for a 18:30 ish, although ive been hoping for that for the past month, I think I have a mental block and can't get past the 18:4x's image 

• mike rushton wrote (see)

You mean run your easy days easy and run your hard days hard?

Yes.

Glad you've started on the club sessions. Hopefully you've witnessed for yourself one thing - runners that are quicker than you are happy to be doing runs at an easy pace.  Since you mention McMillan, the pace calculator there is absolute gold, except the suggested easy run paces if anything are a little quick.

Keep the faith, your times will begin to come down with consistent training.  It's a marathon - ok, 5k - not a sprint.  image

• Thanks Phil. image