Starting

Hello, I've got the chance of a place in the New York Marathon on 3rd November. I've only just started running last week, but I train fairly regularly. I done a 5 mile on  Friday in 60 minutes, but I'm about 4 stone overweight. Do you think it's achievable? I like running, but I'm a bit worried about injuries because of my weight.

Any advice, positive or negative appreciated,

Thanks.

Comments

• Hi Biggun, Newbie here also (so pinch of salt advice).

Do you have a time in mind or just want to finish? 0 to 26.2miles is (reasonably) easily achievable in 5 months if you put in the work. I'm sort of following 2 plans for my first Marathon in September but mainly following HADD and this may help your injury worries as it's based around heart rate and easy running. The 0 to a Marathon in 22 weeks thread may also be a good place for advice.

Kudos for taking this on and I'm sure with the right determination and training you can do this image Get yourself into a decent eating routine and am sure the running will help lose some weight (if you want to).

• Thanks Andi. I'd like to do around 4.30, if possible. Started trying getting the eating to something approaching normal. I'll have a look at that other thread as well. How's your training going? Where were you at when you started?

• 4:30 would be a great time, my goal is sub 5 for my first Marathon, Loch Ness 29th Sept. I started running (again) last July but not seriously and, like yourself only recently managed to run 5 miles without a walk break in 60 mins

My training is already behind schedule due to injury, moving home and laziness so need to buck my ideas up! Thankfully I started my 18 week schedule 3 weeks early to take injury/illness into account. 

• JindaleeJindalee ✭✭✭
    Hi biggun

It should be possible for you to finish the Marathon but I would not concentrate too much on the time. Look for a beginners marathon plan to prepare you. Mine was 16 weeks so it still fits your timeframe.