Army Training

Morning all,

I'm a 25 year old female, I cycle 10 miles every day (comuting) and weight train twice a week. I'm 5'8" and weigh 155 lbs, I'm quite a strong girl i can bench 50kg plus bar. I can complete the 1.5 in 15 minutes but I want to get it down to 12 minutes to look good for army selection. This is the plan I've come up with, adjust if you think I need to please and any advice you can offer too would also be muchly appreciated, thanks image

Mon - gentle 3 mile run

Tue - 30 sec walk, 30 sec jog, 30 sec sprint x 10

Wed - gentle 3 miles

Thur - run up hill, walk down x 10

Fri - gentle 3 miles

Sat & Sun - rest.

Comments

• Also how long do you think it will take me to reach my goal?

• Sian,

I am no expert in training techniques but looking at your proposed training schedule I would say that it is a little too easy.  You need to increase the distance of your runs; start increasing slowly and build up to 10K.  If you cycle as much as you do that should not be too difficult and you definitely need to do interval training to help build up your speed and strength.  I am sure others will give you much better advice but that is what I would do.  I am in the RAF and recently worked with the Army and I managed to get my 1.5M time down from 11.05 to 9.30 in 8 months by running longer and doing interval training.  Good Luck.

• Wow, 9.30 is almost para-fit! Well done, I'll take your advice on board, thank you.

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Try and make one of your gentle runs a little longer, up to 6 miles or so over a few weeks. It will help to build up some base running fitness.

Instead of the sprints I would go for running a number of 800m reps At the same pace as the time you want to achieve.
  • Would you recommend the treadmill to do that? I can't figure out how else to know my pace? 

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    You could do. I've never used a treadmill so don't have any experience.

I use my Garmin watch to work out my pace outside.
  • WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭