a new beginning......

hello to all,

complete beginner deciding to leap into the realms of fitness and dig out my trainers.im hoping to show some commitment and take part in a local 10k in a few months time. any ideas on getting started and keeping it going would be much appreciated, just to get my backside over the finish line.

thanks

Comments

• don't over push yourself, start slowly and build your mileage up slowly.  Try and aim to run for 30 mins without stopping and build on that. It's not going to be easy so you need a positive attitude.

• I found the C25K program (I used a free app for this) a fantastic route in to running from absolute zero to 5k. Getting up to 10k wasn't half as difficulties that first 5k,  I found. There are similar program's out there which will get you up to that 10k distance, so perhaps search C210k. In case you are wondering, C25k is short for "Couch To 5k"

Good luck with it, it is possible but as said above dont over do it, as it can be very easy to pick up injuries if you try too much too soon.

• thanks barry,

would it be fair to say, aim for minutes rather than miles to begin with to improve fitness?

• Yeah I did, in the very early days when I was unfit and very new to running I used to run for 5mins and then walk for 3 mins and repeated until I had been out for at least 30 mins. Don't worry about the distance build on your stamina first.

• thanks for the tips. i will give it a try and look at the C210k too.

• The apps simply take the thinking out of when to walk and when to run. A very simple idea that gets you running in small manageable sessions, for example on week 1, day 1 you will warm up by walking 5 minutes, then it tells you to run for 1 minute, then walk , this repeats 8 times then a 5 min cool down walk. Over and done with in about half hour. Each week amd most days progress you on a little bit. Definitely worth a loooink my opinion.

• YKWYKW ✭✭✭

Good link with some info on how fast for a beginner