Advice for a newbie

Evening all, 

I am new to a regular running routine and looking for some advice. I am running to improve my fitness and lose weight although I do feel like I would want to enter events further down the line if it goes well. 

I've been going out regularly now for 4 weeks running every 2nd or 3rd day. I started running between 2 and 2.5k each session but the last 6 runs have been 4k each and I've improved from around 33 mins to 26.15mins in that time. 

i feel like I'm getting stronger each time I go out but how do I make the routine more worthwhile?

At the moment at the end of a run I'm feeling tired - as if another k would be a struggle - do I keep going at 4k for a few weeks to build up my fitness or try to increase the distance now?

im not particularly concerned with speed however I'm finding it difficult to move past 4k. Slowing my run down so I have more energy at the 4k mark is difficult because I feel like I'm holding myself back and not running a natural pace. 

How do I overcome this?  At the moment despite my fears when I started this I am really enjoying the runs and looking forward to the next one so I don't want to overdo the distance and start hating it again. 

Is 4k every 2 days too much for a beginner? It doesn't feel like it is but it's significantly further than I was expecting to be at this stage. 

Any advice gratefully received. 

Comments