Plateaued/going backwards!

Hi all,

I would welcome some advice from some more experienced runners as I feel as I feel as though I've hit a bit of a wall.

I am quite new to running- I started around March time this year with the aim of doing a 10k race for life at the start of June.

I did not follow a specified training plan (I hadn't looked too much into things then), but gradually built up my mileage over the weeks. I did this by starting at 1 mile, running the distance 3 times, then increasing by half a mile, doing that 3 times and so on. Each time I was running the same mileage and route, I would try to do it a bit quicker each time, but then go a little steadier when I went up to the next distance, and then increase again. I was running 2-3 times per week so increasing my distances every week or two. The exception was as the RFL was approaching, I was running out of time so I went from 5 miles to 6.2 miles, with the RFL being the 3rd of those. I got a Garmin Forerunner 10 as a gift when I was up around 3 miles, so I can measure my minutes/mile retrospectively, but not live pace.

My first GPS logged run is at the beginning of April. I ran 3 miles at an average pace of 11:22 min/mile, compared with towards the end of May, one of my last "training" runs i did 10k/6.2 miles at an average of 9:31/mile (this may have been actually been quicker as i was stood waiting for 1-2 minutes at a train level crossing and didn't realise I could pause the watch!). 

In training, my first 10k took aprrox 59 mins, and the second approx 56-57 mins if you account for the level crossing (see above). Note the second time was a flatter easier route as well. I completed the RFL in approximately 58 mins, though it is hard say what a good representation this is as the 10k runners joined the 5k walkers at the end, making it difficult to pass so the last 1-2 miles were quite slow.