New Forest 10

Just wondered who else was heading to the New Forest next weekend for the NF10? It's my first time doing it (and my first trail race) so really looking forward to it. Hope the temperatures reduce a bit next weekend though as only 8.30am here at the moment and it's already flippin hot!

Does anyone know how hilly/flat the course is? I've heard from most people it's fairly flat but then a couple of people have given conflicting reports that there are a couple of hills along the route. It's all relative I suppose (or maybe they got lost?!)

Also looking forward to getting a horse brass instead of a medal!

Comments

• I've only done it once before in 2009 and remember it being flat, it is the heat that is the killer. the course is quite exposed and there is not much shade. I am running next week, but if the weather is like this weekend I doubt many records will be getting broken. 

• Mr BoatMr Boat ✭✭✭

It's not that hilly but not a pb course and it'll be warm. Great day out though and I'd be doing it if not working and injured.

• Im going, I heard it was flat but being trail it will be a little harder on the legs than a road 10. Just wondering if I can run in an huge straw hat with a camelback if this weather continues!!

• GertieGertie ✭✭✭

I've ran it a couple of times.

It's relatively flat,  no killer hills.

It will be hot though.  Always is for some reason.

• Forecast is looking like it's going to stick at about 24 degrees so will watch out for the firemen and slap on the factor 50 (I'm a pasty redhead - can't cope with anything less!).

What's the parking like there? I wasn't planning on going down until just before the race starts but wasn't sure whether I'd struggle to get into the car park if I left it too late?

Really looking forward to it now - I think the heat has changed my mindset from it being a race to a nice country run - no expectations on a time etc...

• GertieGertie ✭✭✭