Improving my 5k time

Hi there,

I've been running with little structure for nearly 10 years. Recently, however, I discovered Park Run and have been somewhat addicted to bettering my time. At the moment I'm coming in at 19:30 - without killing myself. My target is 18:30 and I wondered what techniques I could work into my schedule (see below) to help me towards that.

Monday: 6-7 miles at a moderate pace

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 6-7 miles at a moderate pace

Thursday: 45 minutes of effort training

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 5k

Sunday: 10-11 slow miles

Thank you in advance!

Jamie

Comments

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Can you give a bit more detail on the

6-7 at moderate pace and also what the 45 mins of effort training is comprised of.
  • Hi,

My 6-7 mile runs are roughly 8 minute miles or 7.5 if I've had some Weetabix. I tend to stick to flat surfaces with a little hill work for good measure. I try and maintain a consistent pace. My efforts are basically 100m walks followed by 100m of hard running. Hope that answers your question.

Many thanks

Jamie

• DT19DT19 ✭✭✭

Do you just do the same effort session every week? If so they need varying, and you need to do some tempo running ie longer intervals of effort but not flat out. IMO 100m efforts is not the optimal max effort session or improving a 5k time.

In the first place you should visit mcmillan running website and get your training paces so that you are not randomly creating your speed. This will tell you based on current time, how fast you need to train at all types of training ie easy run, long run, tempo run pace etc.

• Give your effort training a bit more structure - 400m, 800, 1200m with 90s rest. You're doing almost 30mpw so make the fast bit total 3 miles. Look at Macmillan for suitable paces.

Perhaps swap your Thursday and Friday sessions to give yourself a bit more rest before your race on Saturday.
  • And make sure you warm up properly.