Great North Run Newbie, Where to stay, bags etc

Hi all, im doing the Great North Run in September and I've never done it before. I know its a way off but I like to plan ahead so I can book trains and hotel.

My plan is to go up day before and come back on the day afterwards on the train. Question is where is best to stay. Ive been on the website and seems theres a transfer from  finish to  start or city centre. Ill have a few family members there too, so is it best to say in centre, race start from near centre then just transfer back to centre after the race? Id probably book the train back to Leeds  for anytime around 6pm, this gives me ample time after the race doesn't it?

Ive heard accommodation is a mare and just done a quick search on usual chain hotels and says nothing available, blimey, so soon!!

Any experienced great north runners I'd love some advice, thanks.

Comments

• Mr PuffyMr Puffy ✭✭✭

All the bedspace get booked by a travel company linked to the race and they sell off packages at a bumped up price.

Try the University, also Durham University, and look on Trip advisor for Bed & Breakfast.

The Metro service is very good, and the race starts relatively late on, so you don't need to be rioght in the centre, you could stay anywhere on the Metro really.

• Ok, accommodation is always tricky. People who have a guaranteed entry for the next year book up as soon as possible. The uni is good so contact them regarding rooms. It is 5 mins walk from the start. Otherwise you can stay anywhere within walking distance of the metro and you'll have no difficulties. There is also a shuttle from South Shields to the start. Using metro/ bus to get back into Newcastle after is easy.

Obviously a bit depends on your pace when you arrive at the finish but 6 pm would be ample time if you don't plan to hang about in South Shields. There is often queues for transport at the end so take that into account.