How to go about doing a Triathlon

OK so i have done a few half marathons - done the FLM and really have always fancied doing a Triathlon (small one to start with) Fairly good swimmer (swam for North of England oh many moons ago) What sort of training would i have to do ie how many times a week would i have to swim/run/cycle? Complete beginner in this field so any tips would be appreciated and also some small events that i could enter!

Many thanks and Happy New Year to you all x

Comments

• Lulabelle - where are you based?
  • JjJj ✭✭✭
    My mummy calls me Lulabelle.

:o)
  • oi will i though you were coming down one weekend for a bike ride??
  • thought.... thought
  • oh lulabelle in answer to your question, it really depends how long a tri you want to do, and how well you want to do

i'd get 'the triathlete's training bible' by joe friel, and 'triathlon 101' by jon mora - great introductory books with all the advice you'll need
  • Just Jj why does your mum call you Lulabelle? I get called all sorts from Loops to Lou - that's having a name like Louise i guess!!
    Andy thanks for the tips will get the book - do you know of any small events around the country?
  • DazDaz ✭✭✭
    lulabelle!!??

<snigger>
    Endurance Coach @ DazCarterFitness.com
    Elite Ironman, Ultra Trail Runner
  • What's wrong with that? Nice father christmas hat!!!
  • DazDaz ✭✭✭
    just yanking your chain

what hat?

lulabelle, good luck and welcome to triathlon. how many times do you currently swim and run (what type of sessions)? I presume you have a racing bike?

if your body can manage the ideal thing would be to do 3 sessions of each discipline a week and maybe one conditioning session with weights.