Beginner needing some advice

Hi, I am a complete beginner who has always wanted to do a triathlon but i don't know where to start.

Currently i run 5k (11 min miles), 4 times a week and have increased one of the runs to 10k every other weekend.  I swim once a week (occasionally twice) just swimming lengths of front crawl and have a road bike that i go out on and cycle about 15 miles.  I would not say i am very good at any of them.

Is there a training book you would recommend?  Should i be looking at joining a gym (can't really afford that but would) and how long should i start training before an event?

Thanks for your help

Comments

• Hi Lisa,

You don't need to join a gym, just need a bike and some running shoes, what sort of events are you looking at entering?

For sprint distance you are doing enough, I entered my first one last year with hardly any preparation just to have a go and got through ok, from then on I was hooked.

You don't have to be any good at anything not many of us are image

• Thank you that is really reasurring.  I was thinking of a sprint distance and starting off in a pool based swim.  I am going to watch a local event in September to get a feel for it.

I worry most about my running as i am not that good at it and as much as i wouldn't care about time i wouldn't like to be last. 

Did you follow a plan or just go for it?

• Lisa - have a look at this - it may give you a few more clues.

And don't worry about being last - most triathlons go in waves, so spectators never know who's leading and who's last. The important thing is to enjoy it!!

• I didn't follow a plan, and still don't, I try to but I loose interest halfway through, I either make it too hard or too easy, I have done 3 sprints and one Olympic and have just started taking training more serious

The Link Rafiki has posted is a great help, and the lovelly people on this forum have great advice and support..