How fast can I get with two years of training?

Hi everyone,

I have been running for a little while now, just increasing my mileage now to cope with 10k races etc, and to prepare for the Great South Run.

But there's a half marathon in two years' time that I would like to get into, but I need to reach a qualification time, which I'm guessing will be about 1.40 ish.

I am overweight by about 10kg at the moment but I was thinking, if I go on a serious diet and start building up the mileage, could I acheive that?

Any hints and tips would be great!

Comments

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Which half marathon are you thinking of?

What's your 10k time?
  • I would think sub 1.40 is achievable for any average runner with two years to train.

I've been running (this time) for two years and can do sub 1.40; and I'm average (and middle-aged).

• literatinliteratin ✭✭✭

Are you a bloke though, Easy Does It? That would help.

• DT19DT19 ✭✭✭

what hm is it? I have never seen one with a qualifying time before? Normally commercial reality dictates and the average joe I would guess is around 2hrs. Limititing your field to those with a pre attained time of 1hr 40 means about only 10-20% of a normal field can take part.

Obviously before that race you have to pencil in  other halfs to attain the qualifying time and to maximise your HM time takes a few attempts to learn and trust your pace.

• literatin wrote (see)

Are you a bloke though, Easy Does It? That would help.

Yeh, sorry, I am.  I'll shut it.  Apologies.

• Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

Easy does it, that is indeed a very generalised first line you write.

You don't seem to give any consideration to age, gender, injury limiting factors, how much they'd need to train in those 2 years or anything.

It's like me saying I did a 1hr 34 half  as my 2nd half so anyone should be able to do that.

Not quite that easy.