Running: My Daily Habit

Ok, here goes. I've been running inconsistently for the last three years. At my best I could run a 10k race in 57mins. I felt good and looked better. However I've always been in consistent and in more recent times I've gone out and given up after only 10 minutes. It's just getting harder and harder....I  wasn't doing myself any favours, I was making matters worse by expecting myself to be able to do more and then hating myself for not doing it! I know that this thinking makes no sense. So I need to do things differently.

This is the start of my school holidays, so no better time than now to forge a new habit and its going to be a daily run. I've done the reading and I'm happy to accept that the best thing is to start small and in achievable steps. So, I'm going to run 10 minutes every day. I can do that!  image

I'll increase my time by 5 minutes next week or maybe the week after but every day that I get my shoes on and out the door will be a celebration. That's my objective. Part of my motivation is to share my journey and so here I am. I don't know if it'll be of any interest to many but I'm planning on making a life changing habit and I'm going to do all I can to make that happen! 

Maybe this will lead to some exciting things! Thank you for reading....I'm off to put my shoes on. This is day 2 & if I can do it yesterday I can do it today! image

Comments

• BikoBiko ✭✭✭

When I took up running I thought the hard thing would be the physical act of running. But I've found it's not. Placing one foot in front of another is actually quite simple.

The mental aspect of it is much harder, from getting the motivation to put your trainers on to the mental block when you run further or longer than you've done before. It can be quite tough.

Good luck!

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭