Training For First Half Marathon & First Marathon- Advice?!

Hi All, this is my first post on RW so please be kind!

I've been running regularly for about 18 months and have done several 10k races. Recently I decided to step up a bit and have entered the Royal Parks half marathon at the beginning of October. I have now also entered the Edinburgh Marathon next May!

At the moment I am running 3 times a week. 1 x 10k, 1 x interval training (on treadmill) , mixing things up for 30 minutes, and 1 x longer run (I am now up to 12 miles and planning to get up to half marathon this weekend!).

I also fit in the following cross training: 1 x HIIT based workout, using free weights and lots of squats, burpees, press ups, etc; 1 x HIIT based workout using similar moves but less/no weights, and focussing on core strength; 1 x gym session using kettle bells, focussing on upper body strength and squats.

My plan is to pretty much carry on like this (2 rest days a week) but to extend the longer run once I've completed the half marathon in October, working up to maybe 21 miles max. I am keen to keep cross training to help avoid injury and to keep a good balance/ maintain muscle mass. 

Do you think this will be enough for the marathon running 3 x a week as long as I can get the long distance up? Should I adjust the other 2 runs I'm doing to go longer? I'm just keen to keep balanced as I have suffered a lot in the past with arthritis in my knee, but in the last 18 months I have so far been absolutely fine using this new approach (particularly with all the squats I've been doing!) Along the way I have also managed to lose the 4 stone I put on during the years when I was unable to train with my knee problems!

Most marathon training plans seem to involve running 5x a week but I am not sure this is going to work for me - any advice much appreciated as I am in very new territory here!

Thanks so much image

Comments

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭