Music!

Hi,

I've been running for about 5 years now - and have run a few 10ks.  Just recently my eldest son gave me his old IPod and suggested I listened to music whilst running.  Bearing in mind I've never listened to music while running before, and go out approximately 2 times per week for 30-45 minutes per run.  I originally did my runs alone, but after a couple of years I've been joined by my husband and our dog!  Now I feel safe enough to run with music in my ears - before I thought I wouldn't be so alert to any dangers, but it's been such great fun.  Did my first run to music this week and loved it.  Today I've been looking on the web for ideas/sites...and came across this site:http://jog.fm/  Gives you a list of suitable beats per minute songs which you can pick and obviously run to after downloading.  Love it!!!   Certainly a new dimension for me...how easily pleased and sad I am.  Just thought I'd share that 'find' (the website) with you image 

Comments

• Does your husband mind you listening to music when you run with him ? Whats wrong with chatting ?
  • XX1XX1 ✭✭✭

Maybe the husband prompted the son to gift the iPod image

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

I would consider it a bit (well, more than a bit) rude if I was running with someone and they stuck their earphones in.

Do you wear your earphones while you're having dinner with your husband?

• I tend to run with music, only for training runs, and short ones at that. Races..big no no..see about a million threads on that one, but running with your partner and music. What's the point?? Might as well go out by yourself if your going to be that unsociable.

• What if the dog wanted to tell you that someone had fallen down a mineshaft?

• ipods & MP3 Players. 

The organisers have no objections to these being worn, it is proved they can enhance your running experience however great care should be taken when in the vicinity of traffic.

www.firefighterscharity.org.uk

• Sussex Runner NLR wrote (see)