Times for 10k

DMaxDMax ✭✭✭
What times would be considered good for a beginner to run 10K in?

I guess your thoughts on average times and slow times would be useful too.

Ta.

Comments

• It all depends.

60 mins is considered good by some. others strive for 36 mins.

I ran my first 10k in 49 mins which i thought was slow, a few weeks later I ran my next 10k in 46 mins. Throw in some hills and my next 10k was 48 mins, I was happy with that

I don't really think that there is any such thing as a good time 'for a beginner'. It really depends on so many variebles that its the how long is a piece of string.

• Hi DMax,

I'm also a beginner and doing a 10k in March. Im hoping to do it in under 60 mins which for me is doable. I did run 3 miles in 25 and a half mins on Tuesday but there's no way I'd be able to keep that pace up for 10k. Not yet anyway. 

Dave

• Dmax, I haven't got under 60 mins (yet) for a 10k. Last year I did a few 10ks, with varying times - 78mins, 83mins...But they were mainly hilly trail 10ks. Not that I would be that much quicker on the road I think....

But then, I am in my 40s, overweight....I am hoping that as I lose weight and train more the times will come down.

For your first 10k I would just run it without a time in mind and then you have a pb to beat. Don't worry about what times other people do

• Good advice there from mathschick, just run the 10k in your own time,

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

My first 10k was something like 1:06, but over the years I've knocked more than ten minutes off that.

Even at 54 minutes something, that's really not fast - but I can only do what I can do!  I don't waste time worrying about what other people think/do.

• Agree with mathschick. First 10k, just go out and enjoy it. Get your PB, then work on it from there.

You will also find that running in races does give you a little extra buzz, so time may be better than you hoped for anyway.

Also agree with Wilkie, do what you feel capable of doing, not what others do.