Has yoga helped your running

I am doing a yoga teacher training course and my elective is all about yoga and running and in particular how yoga can strengthen your body to improve running efficiency.  If anyone has any relevant experience they would like to share I would be really grateful. Thanks

Comments

• I have been practising yoga on and off for a couple of years. But after suffering from shin splints and a reoccurring rolled ankle I started going three times a week to Ashtanga yoga. Since then I have not had any problems with my shins, and I am continuing to strengthen my ankle. 

I feel that yoga has strengthened my whole lower body and made my muscles a lot stronger. As a result I am running the best I have ever run (though this has also been to my new training plan), but definitaley yoga has complemented my improvement. 

• Yes, I would say definitely in that both me and my physion reckon I'm more flexible now and generally have less issues down my left hand side, which has always been problematic for me due to the left hip being higher than the right. Certain exercises also seem to really help with any niggles connected to the heel / achilles tendon area. 

• I use yoga for my horse riding for my core and noticed when i started running i had a far better posture

• I'm doing yoga now too since getting a new hip joint last year - I need to remain flexible as much as possible. Hasn't helped my running yet because I'm still getting back into that but I'm sure it will.

• That's really helpful thanks to all.  It has certainly helped me in my running, I have a curved spine so a lack of symmetry can really start to show up in certain places when you up the mileage.  Since starting yoga 12 years ago I haven't needed any physio at all though so there has to be something in it.