heart-rate-facts

Hi all !! I have a question for professional runners. I am 90 kgs 6.1 ft. I have been running for the last 6 months for at least 3 times a week followed by some basic weight training and fitness training.

But since last week, I have started monitoring my heart rate as my trainer pointed out that it was extremely high 180 BPM. I have been comfortably able to run up to 1 hour at a speed of 10.1 Kmph. But normally I only run 30 mins 4.8 - 5 kms but ever since that day I haven’t been running for long as even with mild running at 8kmph for 5 mins my heart goes to 165 and then I have to reduce the speed and at the end of the work out I feel I haven’t done anything. 

Please suggest what is a good maximum heart rate to train at ? and how to bring my high heart rate down. At an run of 11kmph within 2 mins my heart rate would jump to 180 or above can’t help thinking that if I do HIIT it will touch 200 or above. Maybe I have to give up running L

Please advise..

Thnaks

Comments

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Has your trainer worked out your maximum heart rate properly or are they just using the 220 minus your age?

My heart rate always spikes at the start of a run but soon settles down after a couple of miles.
  • RicFRicF ✭✭✭

Your fears that your heart will explode are unfounded.

At maximum rates the blood flow through the heart becomes turbulent and less effective at shifting oxygen.

Less oxygen means onset of oxygen debt, which means lactic acid, which will make you slow down wether you like it or not.

Thats natures safety valve.

You cannot over-ride it.

🙂

• Thanks ya'll, and I am sorry I missed mentioning my age- 32 and I do have a slight High BP problem. 

Milllsy1977 - He is just using the 220 minus- age formula. 220-32 = 188 BPM

I easily touch 181 but I don’t feel worked out altall rather I feel I could run for an hour or more on at that speed, let’s say for the sake of argument 9.2Kmph.