Why Cannondale

In another thread I said Id decided to by a Cannondale (probably R800 road bike now).

I recieved comments like

"Why Cannondale"
"But Cannondale just doesn´t hit my buttons"
"Yeah why Cannondale? You said you wanted a Tri bike, there are many out there that are a lot better for the money"

1) Could someone suggest alternative bike for around £1200 or something as good for less money?

2) Why is my decision to buy Cannondale recieved with some distain?

Im new to cycling/Tri and deceided to buy a Cannondale becasue id heard off them, been told by others that they are good reliable bikes, I like the look of them (not a mahor thing but its importnant to like your bike I guess as it'll encourage me to get out on it.

Comments

• i got a trek for 1200 which is fine... plus a few hundred quid for bars and pedals etc
  • Cannondale are more well known for mountain bikes. I believe that they have only recently entered the road bike market and so have yet to establish themselves. Might explain the negative remarks.

They have an excellant reputation for mountain bikes and there is no reason why this can't be transferred to the road bike market. It will just take time.

If you like cannondale then go for it. After all your the one who will be riding it.
  • Carl - have found out over the years that all too often yu can pay for a name. By far the most important thing is fitness for purpose / sizing. I would say then think about a good set of wheels and then groupset.

Here's a suggestion - give some dealers a bell who are, or have been racing cyclists. Moreover, those who know about time trailing and triathlon. There's a lot about who will ensure that you are fitted correctly on a frame that will do the job. They can, and do help people. Also, if you go to them their mechanics will always help you out.

Some names that come to mind are Brian Rourke and Dave Hinde. People like that have years of experience.