smoking and running

I have been running for approximately 5 months now (on average 2 - 3 times a week, between 5 - 10km).

I quit smoking in the last 10 weeks but found that this has had an adverse affect on my running, particularly my breathing. I thought that quiting was meant to improve my breathing, stamina etc. image but it seems to have had the opposite affect. Anyone else experienced something similar? Itt seems biizarre.

Now that I quit smoking, I can barely complete a flat 10km without stopping for breath and the running is not pleasurable or enjoyable anymore.

While smoking 10km running times (42 - 45 minutes). Now that I've quit in the last 10 weeks (times closer to 50 minutes).

I know that the body is adpating to the changes, but why do I feel worse off for it.

Comments

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

Most likely you've replaced smoking with eating, lots do.

10 weeks!

You probably weigh a couple of stone more than beforeimage

🙂

• Hoping that's a tongue in cheek comment there Ric image

I've heard it's common to feel worse before you feel better. Your body takes a while to detox from all the carcinogens and other crap it's got used to. Smoking's an addiction remember.

Hang it there, it will get better.

• MuttleyMuttley ✭✭✭

It gets worse before it gets better. When I finally packed up smoking I was wheezy and coughing more than usual for several months afterwards. I figure that the tubes and lungs were adjusting to not having hot smoke poured all over them many times a day.

Nearly two years on and this year my 10K time is consistently 2-3 minutes faster than last year and half-marathons are consistently 5+ minutes faster. There could be other factors but I'm pretty sure not smoking is in there somewhere. And in general I feel much more lively.

That's my experience. Your mileage may vary of course. But stick with it, if only for the benefit it has on your wallet.