Swim in river

I recently read about open water swimming and that the water quality at the river Wey (near to me) was fairly good.  I'm a fairly novice OW swimmer.  I usually do a kilometer at the lakes, sometimes more and always leave with gas in the tank. 

I was thinking about doing a section of the Wey, perhaps from just before St Catherine's Hill to the car park that leads into the main roundabout at the start of Guildford high street.  It's about 2Km.  I would have my stepson walking alongside the bank to help me, if I should need it image

Any thoughts?  Fun? image  Certain death? image Tell me what to do.  Run my life for me image

Seriously though, I don't mind a bit of risk, but wouldn't want to be doing something really stoooopid image  

Comments

• FD, Go for it!  Here's a link to the OSS map if that's the area you're heading for!

http://wildswim.com/river-wey-nr-guildford

Enjoy!

• Sounds like youre taking precautions, id say go for it.

I would say make enquire whether its a known swimming / water sports location, even safe looking riders can have currents, hidden obstacles, weeds etc.

Enjoy.

• I guess the main question is do you believe your stepson would be able to help if you got into any serious trouble? If you are confident in his abilities and that he wouldn't panic should anything go wrong then as others have said, go for it.

• It's a great question, and I've been meaning to ask people about this subject.

I'm not sure what the precautions amount to.  If you went under, what would you expect your stepson to do?   Jump in? Or call 999 and wait 10+ minutes for a response?

For me, I'm totally confused by why swimming in rivers and reservoirs takes so many lives... even strong swimmers.  I don't grasp what's going wrong.  I swam in rivers loads of times as a kid... big rivers... but I don't know now if I should be letting my daughter follow suit.