Frustrated!

Hello all, I've never really posted on this forum before but have been reading bits and pieces and I need some advice.

I started running in May/June (June really, I did a charity walk in May and got the bug but didn't start physically running until June) and I'm currently training to do a 5k with C25k. I made a lot changes to my diet to help with the running because up until May I've always been a coach potato, fairly lazy but as I'm a teacher I'm still on my feet all day. I don't have any need to lose weight, but I want to get fit. After several months/years putting it off and saying "I really wanna start working out", I actually did it.

I've finished the C25k plan, it took a little longer than the 8 weeks because I hit a few hurdles and redid some sessions, and while I'm pleased with my progress (I nearly died in week 1 doing those 60 second intervals!) I'm finding myself getting increasingly frustrated with myself. I can't manage a full 5k without having to walk for part of it (4 minutes in my last run) and it's taking me 42minutes. I know I'm still strictly a beginner and I should give it time, but I am getting SO frustrated with how slow I am! I think in my head I should be getting better with every session, and when I see other people who seem to be at the time stage as me who are running faster I can't help but feel very deflated.

Does anyone have any advice? It's probably a stupid question, but is the right thing to keep plugging away at a steady pace? I am mixing things up a bit by swimming and cycling because my mind is starting to wander, and although I won't give up on running I am finding myself less and less motivated to go out for a run. Is there anything else  I can do? What did everyone else do when they were starting out?

Thanks image

Comments

• stu jstu j ✭✭✭

there were two big problems when I started back into running earlier this year:

1 - running too fast.

2 - running alone.