Interval training

Hi I'm training to be able to do trail and fell runs, not planning on entering any race just yet, I'm just doing it for the enjoyment of being in the outdoors and the feeling of personal achievement.

Anyway, I'm doing interval training on treadmill, I do 2 mins walking at 4mph, 2 mins jog at 6mph and then 2 mins at 7.5mph, all on an incline of 2.0. Today I reached my target of 5 intervals so I upped the speed in the last minute to 8mph and did an extra 30 secs too. Is this a good way to do interval training and now that I have hit my target should I up the speed next time or up the incline?

Comments

• Hi Mike, a newbie here so take this with a pinch of saltimage

You want to run trails and fells but are running on a treadmill? why? surely it would be best if you went outside and ran on trails and fells? As for intervals, your not really doing them as I understand them, do a slowish warm up then run, no need to do intervals when your just starting imho.

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Mike, Andi seems to have it spot on.

If you are new to running just work on building a good aerobic base through regular steady running before moving on to specific sessions etc.
  • Hi thanks for the replys

i am doing trails and outdoor 10k and 5k runs as well as treadmill. I'm just doing these interval sessions after my weights routine in the gym to build my fitness. Is this not the right way to do intervals then?

• My 10k pace is pretty much 60 mins exactly if this is any indication of what level I'm at...

• Hi Mike, I'm not a coach or an expert on different types of training, so can't really advise you on what you should be doing. But I think you need to think about what the purpose of the session is - if it is really just 'to build fitness', then I'm not sure what you're doing is optimal. You might consider warming up gently then perhaps running at a slightly harder pace but for a longer time, then cooling down.