Is all 'Gait Analysis' equal?

Hi,

When it comes to gait analysis, are some places better than others? I've had a look around and I've seen it vary from a bloke watching you run up and down outside the shop to fancy treadmill/computer combos.

A bit of background, I've been exercising for over a year now, doing 3 BMF sessions a week and have shed five stone. I've been running on Sunday mornings for about 9 months anywhere between 3 miles and 12 miles all on trails and fairly hilly.

I have noticed a bit of pain in my left knee after some of the longer runs. Now, this is probably down to not running often enough and building the mileage up slowly but I reckon I ought to get fitted to a pair of running shoes that suit my running style to rule that out.

I have a shop local to me in Guildford, FitStuff, who offer this service - does anyone have experience of using them? Alternatively, there's RunnersNeed in Clapham who I have heard good things about.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Comments

• Yes, I think they vary, but there can be a sound reason for running outside - some people, myself included, never use a treadmill so they will take you outside to watch you - it isn't so much a professional vs amateur thing.

I have used Runners Need at Holborn and the one in the City (Strype Street?). I didn't much like the Holborn one, the staff didn't seem that interested, but the City one is really good, they take their time always seem to be able to think up an excuse to give you a discount - or maybe I've just been lucky image

• Screamapillar wrote (see)

the City one is really good, they take their time always seem to be able to think up an excuse to give you a discount - or maybe I've just been lucky image

Maybe it's just the way you flutter your lashes Screams...

• They don't seem to look at my face much - maybe I just have pretty feet image

I do always get served by a bloke though.

• Screamapillar wrote (see)