Have you ever been last in an event?

Comments

• Not been last but am often close to it. In my first 5k I was 3rd last. The guy who came last was a Kenyan (albeit about 65 and very overweight). My claim to fame that day was that I beat a Kenyan runner... never let the truth get in the way of a good story image

• Thought I had last place sewn up at the Stort 30 last year, when I worked as a course sweeper but carried a race number for insurance purposes.  

I was ultimately denied last place because the penultimate finisher was injured, and I was more concerned about him than the person in absolute last place. 

• YES! Also dropped out after injury. I should imagine many people on Forum have gone through the same.  Its part of running but is part of running, you will have good times and bad times but running and the community.  We are all here and will give advice and support. So don't worry with training comes progress. 

• Yes - twice in the same event! I was last overall in the Himalayas 100 mile stage race and joint last with another girl on day 3 which was the marathon day. Not many people can say that their marathon pw is 10h30m!! In our defence, it was a bit hilly and at altitude. But we both finished the whole 100 miles and not so many people have done that image

• I came 2nd to last at the weekend in the Vit - should have come last but I think the chap behind me had a mechanical. I got exactly what I deserved - I hadnt trained anywhere near enough. Felt like a fraud on the start line but that changed very quickly when I crossed the finish line....... it says finisher on my T-Shirt and its the same colour as the one given to the bloke that finished first (albeit a lot larger)