General advice new to running

Hello, i'm not new to fitness I do and have done resistance training 4 days a week for quite some time however I am new to running and have decided that during my cut it would do me good to get my Cardio outside as opposed to on a treadmill staring at myself in one of them oppressive full length mirrors they seem to like putting in front of cardio equipment.

I have also fancied having a go at one of the 'tough mudder' type events. so on Saturday I laced up my trainers and went for a run to try and assess my capability, my target was not speed just simply to reach fatigue, in 40mins I had covered 5.5km and my legs had had enough. now this is more than I had expected to complete given that i'm not built like a runner and i don't 'do' cardio exercises and i'm Asthmatic but my cardio system was happy to carry on, my legs however were done.

I'm not sure where to progress from here, I want to run Wednesday and Saturdays with my weight training being M,T,T,F (legs on Monday to allow some rest period.

I'm thinking tomorrow being my first mid week run I should aim for a 2k at a decent pace, is this the right chain of thought? or should I go for the 5k route again? my 'goal' to be able to complete 10k by the start of the new year so that I can happily enter some events next year.

Comments

• Further before faster. 

Increase your longest run by 10% each week until you can comfortably run your target distance (10k) and maybe then think about speedwork on your shorter runs. 

• OK thanks.

I'll do the same route I did at the weekend again tomorrow then and extend it a bit for next week and so on. my short term goal is just to do it i'm not particularly fussed how quickly I do it it'd just be nice when I turn up at an event not to be the one flagging at the back of the pack.