Farnham Pilgrim Marathon Sep 15th..anyone?

Hi, I am a Marathon newbie.. well not quite, it will be my second, and I did the very tough Sussex Marathon under 4 hours, but I have chosen this as my second one. I am looking forward to it, and am hitting the 20 mile runs with confidence, but any advice one could give me about this would be appreciated? Will I need my off-road shoes, how bad are the hills?

Comments

• WiBWiB ✭✭✭

Ghostrider - I am in for this one too. Sorry, can't give you any advice on the course but my knowledge of the NDW I think you would be fine in road shoes unless there is rain.

I am sure someone who has done it previously can be a little more helpful though.

• Well its a week away plus some hours before race day. It looks to be a good race, so cant wait to do it, but just doing a final long run tomorrow morning, but maybe only 13-14 mile. Its a medal I will be pleased to have on my shelf.

• It's a lovely race, really friendly and well marshalled, only downside is a field or two of cows. St Martha's in the middle is a big old climb but the views are worth it. If the weather stays as is then road shoes are fine. Still debating whether or not to run with the countdown to my first Ironman but I'd be gutted to miss it.

• KateF wrote (see)

It's a lovely race, really friendly and well marshalled, only downside is a field or two of cows. St Martha's in the middle is a big old climb but the views are worth it. If the weather stays as is then road shoes are fine. Still debating whether or not to run with the countdown to my first Ironman but I'd be gutted to miss it.

Is the hill in the middle the only big hill? What is the second half like?

• No, there are a lot of hills, that's just the biggest!

• WiBWiB ✭✭✭
    KateF wrote (see)

No, there are a lot of hills, that's just the biggest!

Lots of hills... I like the sound of that image