10k / Half Marathon Training

Hi all

Was wondering if someone can cast there eyes over my routine i recently created it with the goal of finishing a 10k in 40 mins. Current PB for 10k is 42:32 also for a half marathon i've never done one before.

Monday: Am 12x 400m i can also do a run PM if its a good idea after the 400's

Tuesday: Am 6 mile recovery run

Wed: Am Hill work

Thursday: Am 6 mile recovery run

Friday:Pm 6 miles easy

Sat: Tempo run normally do a parkrun

Sunday: 10-12 miles steady

Question is am i over running or adding too many junk miles. I know for the half marathon i'll need to up my miles but don't really want to waste good sessions with needless miles.

I normally try and get in a X- training session in the gym or even a swim. Does doing weights helps also.

Will welcome any constructive or good feeback.

Thanks

Mark

Comments

• It's a case of does the plan fit the person. Nobody can answer that unless you give some details of where you are currently at and what you have been running in the past.

• Thanks for the reply im currently at the level between 41 and 42 mins. Been running for 3 yrs not as much as the last year and a half. Done about 6 10k races times have come down a fair bit from 48 mins down to 42 mins over a year.Suppose im just finding it testing to get the right formula to kick on. Hope thats enough information.
  • Looks ok to me , easy miles add to your fitness so I wouldnt worry about junk miles.Id try and work up to a mix of 400s / 800s and the mile on the monday as you progress as that will help you stamina .

For the half building  up slowly to a 15 mile on the sunday will help you too.

• Cheers Leslie would you think doing a pyramid of 400 800 1200 1600 then reverse it 1600 1200 800 400.