Heart Rate here we go again!

Sorry to raise this again, it seems so many people ask the same questions so forgive me.

I understand the basic idea of RHR and MHR I think, and at my age the basic calculation works out at 157. (I'm 63)

Now I appreciate that it is much better to work out my real MHR except when i look at the websites talking about stress tests they seem to be full of dire warnings for those who are a little older. I have been running on a tread mill and can easily go over 140 (measured with a belt)  which the machine doesn't like but I feel fine. I can keep running in the 140-150 range.

Can I assume that my MHR is higher than my average? Am I doing myself any harm if I let my heart stay at this?

Any observations would be welcome.

Comments

• My heartrate is always much higher than it apparently should be and I'm 22. I'm no expert but I imagine it will get lower the fitter you become.

• How did you work out your max heart rate?

You are not dead yet so things can't be that bad.
  • I haven't monitored it recently since I started road running but when I used to use the treadmill there was a chart which showed the average for your age and height. Definitely still alive so I think it's OK! 

• As it says, it's an average. So it's not really telling you that much.
  • Thanks for the responses.

I calculated the MHR with the simple formula 220 minus age.

But as I said reading about a stress test seemed to give all kinds of warnings that it isn't something I should do lightly.

I think my basic questions are:

Is their a simpler way I can assess my MHR rather than the general value for my age?

Am I safe in thinking that if I can still run comfortably with a higher HR than I  theoretically should is it OK?

• The only way to find your MHR is by doing a stress test. Which as you say you're not comfortable doing.