First ever marathon! Training diet tips?

Hi everyone,

I'm completely new on here (and new to running, though I walked the London2Brighton in May this year - first time I've been properly active in... well... ever!). Just found out I have a place for the London Marathon, and I'm so excited. image I'm also a TOTAL novice runner. Can run 5k-ish quite comfortably, but beyond that is where I'm going to have to put in the hours!

Does anyone have any golden tips as I start my training? Particularly looking for diet-related stuff so I can get the most out of my training. My partner is a martial arts instructor, burns about 7 squillion calories a day, and his diet is pretty much meat, chocolate, pies, biscuits, more meat, mashed potato, more pies, ice cream, and the occasional portion of peas. I'm not quite so bad but still eat a lot of crap, if I'm honest. Should I be loading up on lots of pasta and potatoes?

Cheers guys! image

Comments

• Unless you are doing a silly amount of miles, you will just get fat piling on the carbs.

You need to run around 35 miles a week to burn about 1 lb of fat (3,500 approx. calories). So it's to easy when starting out to over estimate the food intake.

Really at your stage, maybe have an extra banana before a run image

My suggestion is fina plan out of the millions on the net, there are different theories, from those that run less miles, but a high proportion of them quite fast.  Great site for this which i use is my.asics.co.uk  to HADD training which is to do with heart rate and basically starting you at doing a lot of slow running keeping your heart rate at around 70% and building up the distance, then worrying about speed once you have the base fitness, and Followers of a book called Advanced Marathoning.  .... Basically find a plan out there that suits you and go for it.