64 years of age legs feel shattered on runs

Hi, I have been running competitively for 30 years, ( i am now 64, lady) my besy years were my 40,s, i had pb,s  5 miles ( 30 m. 05 sec)  10k ( 38.50),

10 miles (64.50). My favourite running is  x-country, i have had various titles in the South of England and hampshire. I slowed down in my 50,s, but still performed well in my age group. I have recently started running in the UK park runs, after a break from competing( 5 years). Obviously the park runs are undulating and off road, but i was well above average in my age group, those runs were from April to July (best time 27.52). Sorry to be going on, but i need you all to realise i am not a new runner.  For the last month, everytime i go out for a run, my legs feel absolutely shattered and i feel i am hardly moving. I have had a couple of leg massages, but problem is still there. I walk my dogs at least 5-6 miles every day, but i have always done that.  I have rested for 3-4 days at a stretch but when i return to a run its though i have not rested at all. Has this happened to anyone else in their 60,s???? I don,t want to give up yet, i run 3-4 times a week.

Comments

• When you don't feel well and you know things are not right, what do you do? You go and see your GP.

You really provide very little to work on. You are focused on your legs but do you feel absolutely shattered? Do you feel well generally and only feel things are not right when you start running? Ask yourself those questions.

Take your pulse rate at different times during the day while you are doing things and when resting. Just count for 15 seconds and multiply by 4 to get the rate for a minute. Do that over 2 or 3 days noting the result each time. Also do it before going for a run and after you come back do it about four times in the first hour back.

Does your pulse behave erratically or steadily during the normal course of the day? Is it beating fast when you are resting reading or watching TV?