New runner, disheartened

There is nothing original in this, I'm sure, but I'd really appreciate any advice you can give. 

So I was out last night, running. I'm a stone-cold beginner - my current aim is to do a 3k round trip run 3 times a week, no slows or stops. I've been working up from running in 1min blocks, then 3 mins, then 6, and was making inroads on 8 mins. 

I've hit a stage where I get a stitch in my right side below my ribs. Every. Single. Time. I've tried varying the amount I eat, when I eat and drink before I run. I still get a stitch about halfway through my time and it's bad enough to force a stop or a walk. 

When this happened last night - on cue a pair of perfect joggers bounded past me effortlessly, chatting (because of course they weren't breathless at all) and zoomed off into presumably the last leg of their daily 10k run with chirpy enthusiastic vigour.

AaaarGHHHH. I'm so fed up with this. Any tips?

Comments

• Take up embroidery instead?

• Sorry.  Couldn't resist.

I don't suffer from stitches, so can't really help.  Someone will though.  Good luck.

• i found keeping hydrated through the day plus when you have stitch when breathing in, tense your abs/stomach muscles hope this might help.

• Think of anything else you started and are now good at. Was you the best the first time you tried? You have to start somewhere and all those people you see started somewhere too. Nobody just went out and became a good runner overnight. It takes time. Think where you will be next week or next month or next year. 

• Breath in through the nose and out of mouth deeply.

I understand a stitch is actually muscle tension and with training it will improve. Stick at and maybe look at the c25k programmes or going back to six mins but ret and tag another four minutes at the end.

C25k worked for me and is recommended by many many people on here. I can certainly endorse it.

Good luck.
  • Tips / advice ?