First half marathon in 3 weeks and am underprepared

Hello everyone, first post so go easy!

Background: I have been running on and off for about 2 years.  So far I have just completed a couple of 10km races and have run fairly consistently in between although not big distances.  I have trained harder in the build up to the races but as a whole will do a couple of shortish runs during the week (say 5-6km) and about 10km on a Sunday.  Generally I am a bit of a plodder (I find it hard to get the 10km in under an hour).  

Over the last 4 weeks I have added in another run during the week and have been upping the mileage on the Sunday run, although I am still only up to 13.5km.  I have 3 more long run Sundays until the week before the race.  Can you make a suggestion as to how I should play out the next three weeks as I don't think following my training plan is going to happen without causing myself an injury.  I am thinking of doing 14.5km tomorrow, another 5km Tuesday, 15km on Thursday (running home from work) and then don't know if I should take it easy the rest of the week.  I am fortunate enough to have half term week off work so could get a couple in there, although obviously don't want to over do things.  I seem to struggle with the last km the most the legs just all of a sudden feeling like lead, and feet 'burning' a bit.  I don't have problems with the cardio aspect so much.

Any ideas would be very welcome.  By the way, I am not after a miracle time, I think I just want a bit of reassurance that I will get round from people who've been in the same situation.

Many thanks, Jilksy.

Comments

• I think the fact you have half term week off means you can actually spend some time focusing on your recovery. So - as much as it isn't fun - get yourself in ice baths post-run. Make some time for foam rolling, stretching (dynamic too) and getting the nutrition right.