Heating and Insulation

I know this has nothing to do with running but i'm looking for a bit of advice from any heating engineers, green deal assessors etc.

My home is a 4-bed detached which has never had any cavity wall insulation and is using a 20 year old boiler which, if the internet is to be believed, is rated G for energy efficiency.

I'm currently paying over £100 per month in fuel bills and thats just for using the bare minimum times my timer uses (1.5 hours per day for heating and water.)

Would it still be worthwhile going down the route of having cavity wall insulation installed and a new, more efficient boiler or would i end up paying more due to having to pay back the costs of these installations from my energy bills?

Any help and advice would be much appreciated.

Comments

• I'm not a heating engineer but some things you need to ask as well imho

how long do you plan to stay in the house?  if a long time then it becomes a no-brainer as it's likely that the investment will pay itself over the duration

do you plan to sell in a few years?  if so, the investment will pay for itself with an increased asking price - the more work the property needs, the less you will get as people won't spend top money for something that they then have to spend more on.

are there other things you can also do to improve energy efficiency?? draughtproofing, roof insulation,  better thermally insulated windows, etc

• I agree with FB.

I actually thought that form a certain date all boilers had to be switched for the new condensing ones anyway?

You could check and see whether any of the suppliers are currently doing deals on boiler replacements.

• In my area the council were paying for the installation of cavity insulation and serious roof insulation. So free to all - made sense to take them up.

The house is a lot warmer than it used to be - but impossible to quantify the savings.

Worth looking for any programmes from your area or energy provider ?